Road Trip!

After a long (and very productive!) day in the car, we’ve landed at our vacation spot! The trip was pretty uneventful, especially since I didn’t have to drive for any of it… There was a part in the middle where the bicycle rack broke and dropped two of our bikes on the highway- but they seem to have escaped the incident with only minor scrapes (one broken pedal that we’ve already replaced, and some torn up seats and handlebars. Even the paint was unscratched!). We managed to tie the bikes back to the rack (read: my dad heroically tied the bikes back to the rack) using some duffel bag straps and other nonessential pieces from the rack. Once we got back into civilization, we bought another bike rack, and now all is once again well in the world! There’ll be no more flying bicycles in our future.

Much to our delight, we noticed on the way up here that there are a lot of places that have barn quilts- which is possibly due to the fact that there are a lot of barns. They’re all sorts of quilt square patterns, and all sorts of colors, and they are all equally exciting. My camera was buried for most of today, but I’ll be sure to snap some pictures if we see any tomorrow!

Here’s the view from the porch of our cabin:

Welcome to Green Bay, from the Wisconsin side!

Welcome to Green Bay, from the Wisconsin side!

We have  a little fire pit, and that nifty little dock you see there, and one set of bunk beds very clearly not built for tall people. Good thing I brought my air mattress. It looks like we’re going to be doing a lot of exploring this area (also, I’ve heard that cherries are in season right now!), so I’m sure future posts will come with more pictures. Plus, I’m nearly done with that handspun/hand dyed shawl! In the meantime, I’m using my non-knitting down time to work on some new and exciting designs to screen print on my project bags once I’m home again. Do you have any ideas of what you’d like to have displayed on a knitting bag? Hah- not that I need any more ideas, I’m already running out of summer!

Leave a Reply

