Quickly, but With Gusto

Today, we saw one of three birdcage lighthouses in current existence. It’s in Bailey’s Harbor, Wisconsin- the other two are in Michigan and New York. A birdcage lighthouse looks like this:

Bailey's Harbor, Wisconsin

Bailey’s Harbor, Wisconsin

There was kayaking to get to it, and I don’t know much about it other than that it’s privately owned and there are therefore a bunch of angry looking no-trespassing signs in all the windows. Sad. We saw it as part of a shipwreck tour on some kayaks (which I did not paddle at all, but I did take pictures and I do have a sunburn on my nose…) The shipwrecks were in very shallow water, and the kayaks had glass bottoms, so you could just look down to see them. Unfortunately, no amount of Photoshop is going to save the amount of glare that comes off the water on a sunny day, or off scratched plexi with bits of sand stuck to it- so you’re just going to have to take my word for it that the shipwrecks were awesome, and that I thoroughly enjoyed myself, despite my pinked nose.

The only other thing I took pictures of today was….

 

My finished handknit shawl!

IMG_7757

Look at that sunset! never mind the scarf- that’s the view from the backyard of our little cottage!

Well, if we’re going to be technical about it- I didn’t actually take these pictures. But I’m in them, so that counts!

My Photographer says I 'try too hard' when he takes pictures of me. I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MY FACE

My Photographer says I ‘try too hard’ when he takes pictures of me. I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MY FACE

I washed and laid this shawl out to dry yesterday, but I didn’t block it with pins. I intend to do so when I get home, because I think I can stretch it out so that it’s a little less stiff. This yarn, plus the tiny needles I chose, doesn’t have a whole lot of drape.

patterns, and textures!

patterns, and textures!

I used bar increases for the spine of the shawl, because I thought it would add a bit of interest, and supplement the textures. I love it! I just wish there was more of it.

Okay. But seriously? I just love that cable spool..

Okay. But seriously? I just love that cable spool..

This was a great project to knit on the go- big enough needles and enough texture so that I didn’t have to constantly pay attention to what I was doing with my hands. It gave me a chance to see the sights as we were driving around Wisconsin, and the color changes were epic and fun to watch as well!

I don't believe in 'say cheese' apparently...

I don’t believe in ‘say cheese’ apparently…

Yep- it’s just what I need in July. A nice, thick wool shawl.

IMG_7803

I think the fact that I love rocks and yarn in pictures together stems from some kind of intense fascination with both literal and figurative contrast. You can ask my photography professor- I love contrast. It’s a thing.

Except that this is Wisconsin- and I was cold during that late July photoshoot. I’m wearing an alpaca hoodie right now!

IMG_7809

Goodnight, Wisconsin: the land where beautiful pictures are taken!

Leave a Reply

