Radio Silence

I’mSorryI’mSorryI’mSorry ahhhhhhh I am so very sorry that I just up and disappeared for, what? Two weeks? Two and a half? I don’t even know how that happened.

That’s a lie.

See, I have (had) so much to do, and I spent quite a bit of break avoiding doing it, and thinking “I should blog!”, and then telling myself I shouldn’t blog until my homework was done, and then not doing my homework. So. You get the picture.

The only way we’re going to catch up on all the things that have happened and the pictures I’ve taken is going to be to split it up into multiple posts…so you’ve been warned. I mean, it’s not like anything significant is presently happening in my life- I’m basically in an extremely dependent relationship with my drawing tablet, as we spend about 16 hours of the day with each other…but I’m nearly done with all my projects. So, relationships with inanimate objects aside, let’s get caught up!

First, there was that beautiful day when Emma Melanie, Allison, and I went to visit a sheep farm here in Kirksville!

Nice to meet you, Mr. Sheep!

Nice to meet you, Mr. Sheep!

It wasn’t a sheep farm in the traditional sense- there were 6 sheep, and she had a lot of other critters too (carrier pigeons!)- and she just has them because she likes them and I think that’s awesome. She took us out into their field and we all sat around talking about sheepy things and feeding them treats. There are no pictures of me, because I was the one holding the camera…but GUYS! I pet a sheep!

A Very Soft Sheep!

A Very Soft Sheep!

She even offered to have us back for shearing in the spring, and she wanted to give us their wool. Give it to us! She isn’t interested in the wool- she just likes having the sheepies around. They’re Blue Faced Leicesters too, and they have beautiful wool! I know- I sunk my fingers into it and everything…!

This one is workin' it for the camera a little bit ;)

This one is workin’ it for the camera a little bit 😉

There were also some awesome goats

Goats are cool. A little feisty though.

Goats are cool. A little feisty though.

And an iridescent carrier pigeon. He was pretty fun to photograph.

shiny!

shiny!

So basically, I need to make friends with someone who works on a sheep farm, so I can pet, photograph, and kidnap the wool of more sheepies.

Then, Thanksgiving break happened. Many exciting things happened- My Boy got upset with me for shopping in the men’s section instead of the women’s section at Target (seriously, though- talk about gendered clothing disparity!), we all did Black Friday, my parents fried a turkey, and- perhaps most wonderfully, I plugged my laptop into the (very large) television downstairs, and spent an entire day and night parked in a large leather chair directly in front of it, making pretty digital drawings. Also, there was tea involved so it was basically perfect.

This doesn't really do the setup justice- but I didn't want to get my good camera out...

This doesn’t really do the setup justice- but I didn’t want to get my good camera out…

So, I made some pretty drawings.

But other than that, I was pretty much blissfully useless over break. Aside from some boring web design research that didn’t even really amount to anything. But I don’t want to talk about that.

There was Sharknado on the evening before thanksgiving, which I think was still probably most appreciated by me- although dad was surprisingly laughter-filled, especially during the bit where Fin slices the shark in half lengthwise with his chainsaw. He claimed not to like it at the end, but I see through his lies! He just doesn’t want to admit his love for the horror-comedy genre quite yet. I’m pretty immersed, at this point.

My mom and sister getting ready to watch sharknado: I think they're mocking me. In all seriousness, though- I had to take this picture so many times in order to get a crisp one, I was laughing that hard!

My mom and sister getting ready to watch Sharknado: I think they’re mocking me. In all seriousness, though- I had to take this picture so many times in order to get a crisp one, I was laughing that hard!

Also over break, was the 50th anniversary episode of Doctor Who!!!! WHEEEEE!!- so the whole entire world had a massive panic attack about that…. I was pretty excited. I didn’t even cry at all! It could be that I’m saving my tears for when the 11th doctor regenerates at Christmas. I spent the rest of that day and most of the next watching reruns of Who episodes, during which I did cry (The Angels Take Manhattan gets me every time….and don’t even get me started on Vincent and the Doctor)- and also drank lots of tea.

Well. That was more concise than I perhaps intended for it to be. Next time, I have interesting things to say. But that’s too long of a post to be an addendum to this one. So- this weekend, it will be!

Leave a Reply

